“The point is, most of us struggle throughout our lives by giving too many fucks in situations where fucks do not deserve to be given.

“Indeed, the ability to reserve our fucks for only the most fuckworthy of situations would surely make life a hell of a lot easier….if we could only give a few less fucks, or a few more consciously-directed fucks, then life would feel pretty fucking easy.

“What we don’t realize is that there is a fine art of non-fuck-giving.”

Love this article! If I give a fuck about you, you’ll know it. And if you do something or behave in ways that is undeserving of my fuck, then I will stop giving a fuck. I have enough on my plate as it is, I don’t “need” to give a fuck about things I don’t need to give a fuck about…. and I don’t care if you know it.

I actually think there are too many things I give a fuck about – although I do have different degrees of giving a fuck – but in another way, this is also okay because I no longer give a fuck about people disagreeing with me on things I give a fuck about. As a result, I’m no longer enraged or frustrated by people being stupid.

This is indeed, quite liberating… and quite sardonically amusing. I’m not entirely sure what has brought me to this stage, but I know that only three years ago, I would have agreed with this article but would never have had the temerity to (re)post it so publicly in a statement of solidarity.

Perhaps I’m just tired of making the same mistakes over and over again, with the same people in different skins. Perhaps I’m tired of explaining things over and over again to people who refuse to listen, to debate, and to accept responsibility.

I think a big part of it though is that there are now certain things I value – integrity, equality, and justice, for starters – that take precedence over pleasing others. Introspective thoughts about recent events have made me realize that I care deeply about people and doing what is right, and if other people have lower standards, that’s quite all right. There are plenty of other people to admire and respect, because those things are to be earned and never freely given.

Article here.

