““This is all about how women’s bodies are consumed and are considered public property for display, comment and consumption,” said Ms. Fazlalizadeh, a soft-spoken, direct and contained 28-year-old from Oklahoma. “Women need to start talking about their daily moments because it’s the smaller stuff that affects the larger things, like rape, domestic violence, harassment in the workplace.”

“She has heard all manner of stories, ranging from come-on call outs of “hey baby” to a woman in Los Angeles whose friend was shot for not giving a man her phone number.”

This isn’t just about men telling women to smile. This isn’t a feminist thing. This isn’t confined to the USA. This doesn’t only happen to women dressed for a night out on the town. This doesn’t only happen on Granville St, or East Hastings downtown.

This – street harassment – happened to me, inside a department store in a mall where I didn’t expect something like this to happen, where I felt safe. I was wearing a t-shirt and jeans.

I felt victimized. I still do, because I didn’t do anything.

The next time someone decides to hiss obscenities at me and stalk me through a store, I am heading straight to security.

Article: http://www.nytimes.com/2014/04/10/arts/design/tatyana-fazlalizadeh-takes-her-public-art-project-to-georgia.html?smid=fb-nytimes&WT.z_sma=AR_AAD_20140410&bicmp=AD&bicmlukp=WT.mc_id&bicmst=1388552400000&bicmet=1420088400000&_r=2

