“Hilary Dawson, sensei at the University of Victoria aikido club, said her dojo is very inclusive, but draws the line at accommodating a student refusing to practice with another.

“I have handicapped people, I have people with cerebral palsy, I have blind students, and everybody is expected to practice with everybody,” she said. “I have had instances where people either practiced inappropriately or they were too rough, and they are taken off the mats.”

Agree.

“Chief Instructor Joel Posluns told the National Post in an email that he welcomes any student wearing religious head coverings, and has regularly accommodated students who, for religious reasons, feel they cannot bow.”

Dislike, but will reserve judgement.

Bullshit it’s “not an issue”. Aikido is the martial arts I practice, and I would seriously reconsider my membership at a dojo or organization that behaved the way this Yoshinkan dojo did in not having the integrity to stand up for the art they claim to teach. 

“You say that it is your custom to burn widows. Very well. We also have a custom: When men burn a woman alive, we tie a rope around their necks and we hang them.

“Build your funeral pyre; beside it, my carpenters will build a gallows. You may follow your custom. And then we will follow ours.” – Sir Charles Napier (Calgary Sun article)

Article here.

