Decision fatigue is a fascinating explanation of willpower and how decisions can mentally drain a person. What I like about this article is that it discusses several psychology studies as well as a fMRI study supporting the hypothesis, bringing together psychology and translational/clinical neuroscience in laymen’s terms.

It also gives an outsider’s view into the vagarities of research, as it gives the anecdote of a graduate student’s depressed summary of the failed experiment that started it all for Dr. Roy F Baumeister, his graduate supervisor.

I remember how exhausted I became when I tried to furnish my apartment in one day…. I guess my mistake was cutting sugar out of my coffee. So much for what I presumed was the healthier choice – for my body, perhaps, but not my brain.

